• Blog Stats

    • 438,565 hits
  • Follow MY MIND SNAPS on WordPress.com
  • Walt Shakes

    Walt Shakes

    Walter Ude (@Walt_Shakes) is an award-winning Nigerian writer, poet and veteran blogger. He is a lover of the written word. the faint whiff of nature, the flashing vista of movies, the warmth of companionship and the happy sound of laughter. He blogs at mymindsnaps.wordpress.com.

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • WHAT CAN WORDS DO (poems)?

    What Can Words Do?

    Buy your copy of Nigeria's best selling collection of poems. Contact 08060109295 or click image to buy on Amazon.

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • It looks like the WordPress site URL is incorrectly configured. Please check it in your widget settings.

“Be F***ing Presidential…”: Samuel L. Jackson says he has a problem with the way President Obama speaks

2013 MTV Movie Awards Press RoomYou know something is wrong when Samuel L Jackson says that folks need to spend less time trying to relate to the younger generation when they talk, and more time peaking proper English. In an interview with Playboy of all publications (does he think that nudie mag cares about good grammar?), Jackson said that when high profile individuals like President Obama drop the ‘g’ on their words or try to speak slang when speaking in public, “code-switching” as some would say, it’s not a good look. You don’t have to relate to the ordinary man, says Jackson, you’ve got to lead.

“First of all, we know it ain’t because of his blackness, so I say stop trying to ‘relate.’  Be a leader. Be f**king presidential. Look, I grew up in a society where I could say ‘It ain’t’ or ‘What it be’ to my friends. But when I’m out presenting myself to the world as me, who graduated from college, who had family who cared about me, who has a well-read background, I f**king conjugate.”

The Morehouse College grad went on to say that he’s seen other individuals in powerful positions, like screenwriters and newscasters, trying to relate by using slang and messing up words on purpose. Jackson feels that it encourages a form of mediocrity.

“The other day I’m watching this white guy talking to black people on TV, and all of a sudden he’s saying stuff like ‘Pump your brakes’ and ‘I got you,’ these new politically cool terms that kind of came out of hip-hop and blackness. I’m thinking, We do still speak English, right? Though sometimes I wonder. So yeah, it still happens. But the whole language and culture are different now.

“I’ll be reading scripts and the screenwriter mistakes “your” for “you’re.” On Twitter someone will write, ‘Your an idiot,’ and I’ll go, ‘No, you’re an idiot,’ and all my Twitterphiles will go, ‘Hey, Sam Jackson, he’s the grammar police.’ I’ll take that. Somebody needs to be. I mean, we have newscasters who don’t even know how to conjugate verbs… how the f**k did we become a society where mediocrity is acceptable?”

How indeed?

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. anyibaba

     /  September 26, 2013

    I can relate to what he is saying but somehow coming from him, it’s kinda hard to take him serious when he just ended that paragraph with “I fucking conjugate”

    Reply
  2. chezura

     /  September 26, 2013

    He made a point and really I see where he’s coming from bt what’s wt all d ‘fucking’ up in there? Oh well, I fucking understand! *straight face*

    Reply
  3. Really?? so WTH with it?

    Reply
  4. Martin

     /  September 26, 2013

    I understand his mild rage. It gets jarring when you hear all that stuff and you’re trying to make out what they want to say.

    Reply
  5. chika

     /  September 27, 2013

    Lolz….here comes Sam the grammar police…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

