HEAD-TO-HEAD WITH LINDA IKEJI

munch_2013_11_06_131708If I wasn’t so dispirited, I’d be laughing at the sheer absurdity of my nomination at the Nigerian Blog Awards.

Weeks ago, when the awards site set the ball rolling on the nominations of Nigerian blogs, I was excited. I remember a friend told me about it, and me, with all the bright-eyed wonder of a child expecting a scone of ice cream, click-clacked my way to the website and registered my blog. I skimmed the categories.

Best Career or Job Blog. Nah!

Best Faith-based Blog. Nuh-uh!

Best Science or Technology Blog. So not me!

And then I happened upon the category ‘Best Book, Poetry or Writing Blog’, and there, I knew, was my forte. Sharpaly-sharpaly, I nominated myself there, and then proceeded down the road of every politician. The campaign trail. I began to wheedle and harass and encourage and cajole every fellow out there who had the singular misfortune of being my friend on the social media to nominate me. I canvassed Facebook. I stormed Twitter. I bombarded them on BBM. I warned these people oh. I told them. I stretched my ear well-well as I warned them. Nominate ‘mymindsnaps.wordpress.com’ as the Best Book, Poetry or Writing Blog.

But either these disloyal friends of mine didn’t listen, or Fate in her infinite boredom decided to tweak something, but on Monday last week, I got a tweet from the Nigerian Blog Awards twitter handle, congratulating me on my nomination as the Nigerian Blog of the Year.Screen_20131109_210953

Say what?!

I hurriedly logged on to the website, my heart palpitating, my mind rejecting what my eyes had seen. Me? Nominated for gini? Who sai? Who dared put me up there in the ranks of Linda Ikeji and Date360 and NaijaVibe et al? These are master bloggers who probably have apps for their followers to download and keep up with them, for heavens’ sakes! Who did me this disservice?!

I hoped against hope that that tweet was a mistake. That perhaps, it had been intended for a different handle.

Alas! It was not so. I read the nominations page (READ HERE). Totally lucked out on the category I wanted. And right there, at the very end, (ghen-ghen!) I saw my blog name, jockeying for space with the greats.

Nigerian Blog of the Year!

Kai! I don suffer! These people haf kill me finish! There’s no hope for a win in this one nah.

I said as much to a friend, and he chided me, saying I should stop being pessimistic. Where’s the faith, bro? he said. Taking a backseat behind my sense of pragmatism, I wanted to retort. Thing is, I’d hoped for a win. And in the category I wanted, I believed I stood a chance. But out here, my chances of a win seemed slim, about as slim as the chances of a man hoping to get osho-free from a hooker.

But in the end, I came to realize – not on my own oh, I had some people slam that realization into my head – that it’s not about winning. By my own admission, I’m barely a year-old blogger. My fellow nominees – those I’m aware of – are legends in the blogosphere. I shouldn’t consider this a loss – even though a big, fat, whooping loss is what I have braced myself to expect when voting begins – but I should see it as a notch in the belt. A weaning, if you may. A stepping stone; yes, I like that better. A stepping stone.

Oh well, I’d like to toss a shout-out to my fellow nominees, all of them-them. May the best of y’all win. 😉

Voting starts tomorrow, folks. You know what to do.

Leave a comment

41 Comments

  1. iphie

     /  November 10, 2013

    Lolzzzz quite a funny piece!!!goodluck Walt.

    Reply
  2. And you wonder why you were nominated. This… this… Congratulations

    Reply
  3. chika

     /  November 10, 2013

    Nigerian blogger of the year? Go walter!! Go walter!!

    Reply
  4. Lol. A nomination in this category’s a big deal. Congrats Walt!

    Reply
  5. Adaku Alexandra

     /  November 10, 2013

    Atta boy Walnut!

    Reply
  6. Eketi

     /  November 10, 2013

    Congratulations! May the best man or woman win.

    Reply
  7. ify

     /  November 10, 2013

    No harm in boasting bout being nominated with this lot bro! Go Wallie!

    Reply
  8. deolu

     /  November 10, 2013

    Touche! Congratulations mindsnaps…I hope the ‘bored’ fate wield the ‘elements’ in your favour….
    P.s: “the race isn’t given to the swift, neither is it given to the strong…”

    Just saying….

    Reply
  9. Sixtoolz

     /  November 10, 2013

    Ghen-Ghen……… Interesting read I tell ya……..and may the “most voted” win…… :))

    Reply
  10. You’ve got my vote of course, since I have the singular misfortune of being your friend 😦

    Lmao. But jokes apart, we’ll be rooting for you, and we all love you. No homo 😀

    Reply
  11. Nurain

     /  November 10, 2013

    There was a reason for that story in the book of history about David defeating Goliath. How impressive would it have been if David fought with a sword, and perhaps, kill Goliath as Spartacus did Theokolis (hope I got the spelling right) But he stood meters away and fired with a catapult.
    This might be the time you give the future historians something to write about. Best of luck.

    Reply
  12. That is WONDERFUL news, Uche!! Honestly I am so pleased for you. Ah…me, I know what to do come the morrow! Well done bro!

    Reply
  13. Yemie

     /  November 10, 2013

    U go bwoi! All da best is wished you. Come what may, ur a great writer and an award’s not necessarily a yardstick for success, my opinion. Just keep doing what you know how to do best and the ONE who promotes in the realest sense of the word will make it worth your while.

    Reply
  14. Chibuzo Maxine

     /  November 10, 2013

    Nyc one Waltz! All the best! How do I vote?

    Reply
  15. Peter Arnold

     /  November 10, 2013

    Getting nominated in that category in the first place makes you a winner. All I can say is congratulations! And who knows, you just might grab the trophy at the end of the day

    Reply
  16. Congrats,

    Reply
  17. mesi

     /  November 11, 2013

    Woah! That’s not bad at all. Way to go! Already swimming with the big fish, eh Walter? More grease to your flippers bro.

    Reply
  18. Aakay

     /  November 11, 2013

    When I saw the headline with Linda ikeji, I thot u must have said something crazy that she responded to…in my mind I was like ghen ghen..(but u wod prob get more readers from the feud, so that’s a good thing)..so I thot but this is waaaaaaay better…you are already a winner..now I have a reason to start twitting again.:-)

    Reply
  19. nik

     /  November 11, 2013

    im waiting for tomorrow already, and why do you think you wont win?.
    guy we dey your back.

    Reply
  20. Moses opara

     /  November 11, 2013

    Great one

    Reply
  21. doris

     /  November 11, 2013

    Fear fear walter.who sayz you can ‘t win???

    Reply
  22. Go. Go. Go.

    Well done.

    Reply
  23. Award or no award, you’re really so good at what you do.

    Come tomorrow I know what to ∂o. What to ∂o knows me as well 🙂

    Ogbeni Walt_shakes, dance on…I dey your back like “Kilode gan!”

    Reply
  24. Congrats! You wrote this on a depressed note..getting nominated as the best Nigerian blog of the year is big…it puts you in the class of the “legends”…it says that it’s not about years in this business but about quality and impact…and I dare say that you have a shot at winning…

    P.s get ready to put up an app for your blog for your readers to follow

    Reply
  25. Adeline Kasper

     /  November 11, 2013

    Wen ar we to vote? 2day or 2mrw?

    Reply
  26. I know i’m lastma for saying congratulations now but its because i’m special 😉
    I pray you win this. I am rooting for you but i guess you already know…

    Reply
  27. nwechi

     /  November 12, 2013

    congratz,wally!!!!u r a celebrity!!!!

    Reply
  28. Ghen-Ghen. I’m really happy for you, and I’m totally rooting for you and Sifushka. ^_^

    Reply
  29. Congrats Walter! And may the odds be ever in your favour…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

