• Blog Stats

    • 441,320 hits
  • Follow MY MIND SNAPS on WordPress.com
  • Walt Shakes

    Walt Shakes

    Walter Ude (@Walt_Shakes) is an award-winning Nigerian writer, poet and veteran blogger. He is a lover of the written word. the faint whiff of nature, the flashing vista of movies, the warmth of companionship and the happy sound of laughter. He blogs at mymindsnaps.wordpress.com.

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • WHAT CAN WORDS DO (poems)?

    What Can Words Do?

    Buy your copy of Nigeria's best selling collection of poems. Contact 08060109295 or click image to buy on Amazon.

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • It looks like the WordPress site URL is incorrectly configured. Please check it in your widget settings.

Celeb of the Week

Eye candyThe first time I met Eric Atie was at a book launch. The reading of Eghosa Imaseun’s Fine Boys. The celebrated author, Chimamanda Adichie was there, and at the end of the reading, everyone was clamouring to get a picture with her. Smartphones and cameras were handed around to friends to ‘please snap me and her quickly.’ But I came on my own, so there was no friend to do me the honours. Everyone I tried to give my phone to was occupied with the same objective of having a snapshot with Chimamanda. I was frantic. Ah-ah, na so? So me and Chimamanda no go snap?

Eric Atie was the stranger who came to my rescue.

The next time we met was at – where else? – another book reading. Chimamanda Adichie’s Americanah. And a third time was at – surprise, surprise – another literary event. The closing ceremony of the Farafina Creative writing Workshop this year. By this time, a friendship was inevitable. He has a passion for literature and writing that I find intriguing. He’s a move addict (my kind of guy), a cartoon freak, a bathroom singer (with a lot of Grammy wins under his belt, I’m sure) and a closet dancer (all this hide-hide talent sef). He can be a loner sometimes, more of an introvert with a smiley face and a deep personality. He lives for the Arts – fiction precisely. And lastly, wait for it . . . he is desperately in love with Miley Cyrus. Probably wants her to twerk all up and down his business. 🙂

He debuted on this blog with the moving story titled ‘Mr. Man’ (READ HERE), and today, he has another story up: I SAW YOU NAKED (READ HERE). More pictures of him below. Eric 1

Eric 3Eric 2

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Shoot! Why does he have to be a literary genius and hot too? *sigh….how come you guys get to go for all these stuff and I don’t??? 😥
    I need to get older soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

