Kelly Clarkson causes a stir for saying she was “Pathetically Alone” for 7 years before meeting her husband in 2012

kelly-clarkson-super-nova-02Kelly Clarkson, 31, has caused something of a stir with some folks after an interview she did with Parade magazine. In the interview she described herself as being “pathetically alone” before meeting her new husband, Brandon Blackstock, in 2012. The two just wed in October and she’s now expecting her first child with him. Here’s what she had to say about being single beforehand, and her hopes for motherhood:

ON SINGLEHOOD:

“I was single for almost seven years. Every Christmas, it was like, ‘Seriously, I’m still pathetically alone? Awesome. I’m still telling people I’m okay with it? I’m not.’”

ON DATING BEFORE MEETING BLACKSTOCK:

“I only had like three boyfriends my whole life before Brandon, and two of them were good, just not a good fit. I only had one real stinker that I wrote [music about] and made a lot of money off of.”

BLACKSTOCK’S WORRY ABOUT DATING HER SINCE HIS FATHER WAS HER MANAGER:

“He was like, ‘My dad’s gonna kill me if this doesn’t go well.’ I said, ‘So? We’re both adults. And it’s gonna go awesome!’ In my head, I was like, ‘I’m already married to you!’”

ON BEING EXCITED ABOUT HAVING KIDS (BEFORE SHE FOUND OUT SHE WAS PREGNANT):

“My eggs aren’t getting any younger, so we’ve already started trying. I’m totally gonna have a girl. I’m manifesting it! And when I have a girl, you’re gonna be like, ‘That chick knew it! Everybody calls me fat all the time, so I can’t wait to have a reason, instead of everybody just being a jerk!”

I don’t know what was going on in her world before she met her husband for her to consider herself “pathetically alone” at one point, and I’m sure she’s not trying to say there’s anything wrong with being single (it could be a simple joke), but folks took it that way:

Pathetically alone” sounds really bad as if being single, not settling, or being alone is such a crime. I’m happily engaged, but not everyone meets their match until much later in life, if ever. Nothing wrong with being alone, alot of ppl panic and settle for some relationship that isn’t right for them out of fear of being alone.

Wow. Pathetically insecure. She needs to quiet down.

That’s not a particularly good attitude with which to enter into marriage. She’s beginning to sound needy.

Her entire self worth these days seems to hinge on being married. So where does that leave her if they end up divorcing?

Being single is not pathetic. Shame on women who believe they need a man to be happy.

Yikes! Knowing Clarkson (who is pretty outspoken), she’ll probably address all of this. But either way, it’s clear that Clarkson is happy to have found love and to start a family so congratulations to her for that.

What did you think of her comments?

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Eketi

     /  November 24, 2013

    People will keep talking nonsense. I bet these comments came from real pathetically single people.

    Reply
  2. Michael

     /  November 24, 2013

    Maybe she WAS pathetically alone. Like you said, no one knows what was going on in her life before she met him. Some people should just shut the fuck up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

