• Blog Stats

    • 441,219 hits
  • Follow MY MIND SNAPS on WordPress.com
  • Walt Shakes

    Walt Shakes

    Walter Ude (@Walt_Shakes) is an award-winning Nigerian writer, poet and veteran blogger. He is a lover of the written word. the faint whiff of nature, the flashing vista of movies, the warmth of companionship and the happy sound of laughter. He blogs at mymindsnaps.wordpress.com.

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • WHAT CAN WORDS DO (poems)?

    What Can Words Do?

    Buy your copy of Nigeria's best selling collection of poems. Contact 08060109295 or click image to buy on Amazon.

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • It looks like the WordPress site URL is incorrectly configured. Please check it in your widget settings.

Was There Beef With Beyoncé On The Set Of ‘Dreamgirls’? Jennifer Hudson sets the record straight once and for all

dreamgirls5-hiSecret beef between Beyoncé and Jennifer Hudson has been like an urban legend in the entertainment world since the two dynamic singers starred side-by-side in Paramount Pictures’ 2006 remake of Dreamgirls. Now it’s hard to say where the rumors began, but it could’ve just been the stellar job that the ladies did in that scene where their characters Effie White and Deena Jones go toe-to-toe. Or it could’ve been that little perceived jab Bey threw during a 2006 interview with People.

“I knew that the character that I played wasn’t the star. She wasn’t the underdog. She didn’t have the struggle and the pain and the dramatic scenes that Effie had, and I was fine with that,” Beyoncé said.

“It’s really unfortunate that everyone is saying I’m jealous of Jennifer. It hurts my heart because it’s so clichéd. They’re saying that I’m mad when I knew going into this that I was playing Deena because I’m a star they just automatically assume that I’m not humble enough to sit down and take a back seat, which I am,” she continued.

“I mean, I wish I could’ve gained 20 pounds and played Effie,” she concluded, admitting that she would’ve liked to have sang the film’s most famous ballad, “And I’m Telling You.”

Whether or not Beyoncé’s response was shade or not is up for interpretation, but during a recent appearance on Watch What Happens Live, Jennifer Hudson also denied having any problems with her former co-star.

“There was never any rifts at all. That is still my girl to this day. I love her and we’ve always been good. Always,” J-Hud told Andy Cohen.

And there you have it.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

