• Blog Stats

    • 439,739 hits
  • Follow MY MIND SNAPS on WordPress.com
  • Walt Shakes

    Walt Shakes

    Walter Ude (@Walt_Shakes) is an award-winning Nigerian writer, poet and veteran blogger. He is a lover of the written word. the faint whiff of nature, the flashing vista of movies, the warmth of companionship and the happy sound of laughter. He blogs at mymindsnaps.wordpress.com.

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • WHAT CAN WORDS DO (poems)?

    What Can Words Do?

    Buy your copy of Nigeria's best selling collection of poems. Contact 08060109295 or click image to buy on Amazon.

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • It looks like the WordPress site URL is incorrectly configured. Please check it in your widget settings.

Photos: Celebrities reflect on moments with Mandela

As the world mourns and celebrates the life and legacy of freedom fighter Nelson Mandela, some of our favorite celebrities have reflected on time they spent with the anti-apartheid leader and what his presence in their lives meant to them. I also found a few touching images of celebrities with Mandela that I thought I’d share.

ccc2We will forever draw strength and inspiration from Nelson Mandela’s extraordinary example of moral courage, kindness, and humility. – Michelle Obama

article-2519078-19E2141900000578-786_634x461‘My thoughts and love go out to the Mandela family. Rest in Peace Madiba. You will be missed, but your impact on this world will live forever. There will never be words to say what I’m feeling right now. I am saddened to the depths of my soul. Truly.’ – Charlize Theron

article-1259437-0009C3DA00000258-888_468x479‘Nelson has stood as a figure of strength, hope, freedom, selflessness and love, and I join everyone across the world in mourning his passing. However, he was much more than just a figurehead to me – he was my mentor, my honorary grandfather, my Tata. Since meeting him in 1993, he’s guided me and gave me a reason for being in the tough times of my life. He changed my perception of the world.’ – Naomi Campbell

showbiz_nelson_mandela_celebs_gallery_2Thank you for all you have sacrificed to improve the lives of other human beings. Rest in peace. – Beyoncé

jada-will-mandela‘Mandela is gone. I shed a lot of tears today. I am glad I was with the water today to ease me. The world has lost a great man, a powerful spirit and that simply made me… sad. But how lucky are we to have experienced a man like him in our lifetime?’ – Will Smith

 

‘What I will remember most about Madiba, besides his enormous impact on the world, is how much he loved children including his favorite Smith…’ – Willow Smith

 

‘My deepest condolences to his wife, Graça Machel, his children, his family and friends, and to ALL that love him. Rest in peace, Madiba.’ – Jada Pinkett Smith

oprah-winfrey-nelson-mandelaOne of the great honors of my life was to be invited to Nelson Mandela’s home, spend private time and get to know him. He was everything you’ve ever heard and more – humble and unscathed by bitterness. And he always loved to tell a good joke. Being in his presence was like sitting with grace and majesty at the same time. He will always be my hero. His life was a gift to us all. – Oprah

r-kelly-nelson-mandela-whycauseicanTo the Mandela family, may God keep you in perfect peace at this time. For God has chosen a soldier. Mandela R.I.P. – R. Kelly

BayUjGvIAAAhPva@khayadlanga: This picture of Nelson Mandela and Ali is one of my all time favourites. #RememberingMandela

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. anyibaba

     /  December 7, 2013

    ‘What I will remember most about Madiba, besides his enormous impact on the world, is how much he loved children including his favorite Smith…’ – Willow Smith

    Dear willow! Shut the fuck up, don’t make the death about you. Favourite smith? Give me a break.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

