The Things They Say . . . about Beyonce’s haters

“The reason I put down out ‘Bow Down’ is I woke up, I went to the studio, I had a chant in my head, it was aggressive, it was angry, it wasn’t the Beyoncé that wakes up every morning. It was the Beyoncé that was angry. It was the Beyoncé that felt the need to defend herself. And if the song never comes out…ok! I said it! And listened to it after I finished, and I said ‘This is hot! I’ma put it out. I’m not going to sell it. I’m just going to put it out. If people like it, great. If they don’t, they don’t. I won’t do it every day because that’s not who I am. But I feel strong. And anyone that says, ‘Oh, that is disrespectful,’ just imagine the person that hates you. Imagine a person that doesn’t believe in you. And look in the mirror and say ‘Bow down bitch’ and I guarantee you’ll feel gangsta! [laughs]. So listen to the song in that point of view again if you didn’t like it before [laughs].”

Beyoncé finally admits that the ‘Bow Down’ track was for the haters.Beyonce-BOW-GIF

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. anyibaba

     /  December 19, 2013

    Is that not the one featuring Adichie?

    Reply
    • Right! She says it’s an angry track. Chimamanda is heard preaching girl power. See how that can be confusing?

      Reply
      • I think anger is a POWERful thing when channelled into art, but as far as the song Chimamanda’s feminist rant is more connected to the “Flawless” refrain than “I Been On”

      • anyibaba

         /  December 20, 2013

        That track is so split ville, its highly contradicting. A song with too many swear words directed at the female folks compared to Chimamanda’s feminist speech about girl empowerment. Its just so confusing that i stopped trying to decipher what Bey was smoking when she felt “hey this is a good idea”

  2. Marthy

     /  December 20, 2013

    I don’t think the track is contradictory. I see it somewhat like Taylor Swift’s MEAN. Take out the swear words and I actually see both(Bey/Chimamanda) aspects of the song complementing each other.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

