‘It made me feel like I was standing in the school playground’: Keira Knightley reveals invasive social media mentality made her deactivate Twitter account… after just 12 hours

Pictures2Twitter may well be a handy arena for self-promotion, but Keira Knightley admits a mere 12 hours on the social networking site was all she could stand before deactivating her account.

The 28-year-old actress – who previously described the Internet as ‘dehumanizing’ – tipped a tentative toe into the 21st century micro-blogging pool by opening an account with a false name, but promptly shut it down after her initial fears regarding social media were realised.

Speaking to the February edition of Harper’s Bazaar UK, she said: ‘It made me feel a little bit like being in a school playground and not being popular and standing on the sidelines kind of going, ‘Argh.’’

Her absence from the social networking sphere – where the divide between fans and celebrities is blurred and ambiguous – may well have contributed to the misconception that she is ‘haughty,’ but Keira brushes it off.

‘No, I think that’s fine… I like being private,’ she said. ‘I haven’t asked a lot of the actresses who I really admire, ‘How do you do it?’ because I don’t want to know. Maybe I’m childish in that way; I just don’t want to know about your life.’

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

