• Blog Stats

    • 437,349 hits
  • Follow MY MIND SNAPS on WordPress.com
  • Walt Shakes

    Walt Shakes

    Walter Ude (@Walt_Shakes) is an award-winning Nigerian writer, poet and veteran blogger. He is a lover of the written word. the faint whiff of nature, the flashing vista of movies, the warmth of companionship and the happy sound of laughter. He blogs at mymindsnaps.wordpress.com.

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • WHAT CAN WORDS DO (poems)?

    What Can Words Do?

    Buy your copy of Nigeria's best selling collection of poems. Contact 08060109295 or click image to buy on Amazon.

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • It looks like the WordPress site URL is incorrectly configured. Please check it in your widget settings.

Obrigadu. Danke. Mérci.

When every year is winding down to its end, and you have life and all or most of the provisions that furnish it, and your dreams have either become reality or are on the fast track to getting there, and the people you love are abundantly in your life, then this ending begs for the acknowledgement of all those who made memorable your journey through life thus far. Because, whether you believe it or not, indeed, no man is an island unto himself.

I recently read and got inspired by two write-ups of appreciation penned by two men I admire – Tobe Osigwe and Isaac Ola. And I got to thinking about how in many ways, innumerable acquaintances – old and new – have contributed to making the different facets of my 2013 a success story of sorts. And with respect to this platform – My Mind Snaps – there’s a number of people I would like to say my thanks to.

First and foremost, I’d love to acknowledge Gentle Eyisi, the longtime friend who inspired me to take the step of opening this blog. In a time when I was struck by the uncertainty of how to make my voice heard, he gave me direction. Without him, perhaps there wouldn’t be a blog to talk about, and this medium – through which I’ve made so many encouraging, diverse and prolific friendships – would not exist.

Speaking of those friendships fostered by the existence of this platform, I would love to appreciate the writers whose constant contributions have kept the public interest here alive. Sifa Asani Gowon, Tobe Osigwe and Ada — sorry, Aida Scribbler (she’s a social media hermit 🙂 ) – these friends are simply the best and have proven how powerful and loving the outreach of the pen can be. They have constantly woven stories and created worlds that are uniquely theirs, and yet, had the ability of drawing all sorts of readers in.

On the heels of this, I’d also like to thank all other writers who have chosen this blog as a way of expressing themselves to the delight of readers. Kelechi Njoku, Eketi Ette, Anderson Aneke, Eric Atie, Chidi Ugbe, Arinze Ifeakandu, Nonso Anyasi, Emmanuel Essien, Okechukwu Elosiuba, Uzoma Maduwike, Obinna Lawrence, Olisaeloka Onyekaonwu, Echezonachukwu Nduka, Tony Pox, and every other person who has contributed written works to this blog, all of you whose stories have inspired, entertained and educated the reading public.

And then there are those who I consider role models of sorts, friends who cultivate me in every step I take as a writer. They are the people I read from and I am made to believe anew in the world of literature. Tunde Leye, Sally Kenneth @moskedapages (still waiting on that our surprise collabo 😀 ), Justin Vunderkind, Kukogho Iruesiri Samson aka KIS, Unen Ameji, Umari Ayim (I recently finished her ‘Just Friends’ series and I saw love and relationships leap off the pages at me), Maryann Otunyo (her powers of eroticism on paper are second to none), Chrome Nonso Chinke (even though he hasn’t written in such a long time #GodIsWatchingYou), Sagay Agbalaya and Uncle Stephen of the Humour blog (both of who belong to an entire humoursphere of their own), and a lot more others. I will always thank God for the day he brought all these illustrious fellows into my life.

And of course, what is a performance without an audience? How does the show go on when there are no viewers to see it? And what is a story, really, with no readership? It is the people who visit this blog, who read the stories and talk about it, who fight over updated issues that are contrary to their beliefs, who promise to come back again and again and keep to that promise – these are the people who make doing this worthwhile for me. They are the people who give me strength and make me feel like I’m touching lives in my own small way. I can’t name them all, but you are there, and you know yourselves, and I just want to say a huge ‘Thank You’ to you guys.

Desmond Tutu said, You don’t choose your family. They are God’s gift to you, as you are to them. I agree and disagree with him. I believe God gives everyone a true gift of family. I also believe in the course of living, you can get to choose who your family is. And love them just as much as you love the one Providence has gifted you with. In that vein, I want to appreciate both my biological family – Dad, Mum and siblings, all of them who give me a reason to live everyday; and my other brethren, the SARTians – these eclectic group of people who have inspired me in their own special way. If Charles Kuralt is to be believed when he said, The love of family and the admiration of friends is much more important than wealth and privilege, then I am indeed blessed to have everyone I have in my life right now.

Finally, I thank God for Life and Purpose and for making this year 2013 happen, in much the same way He will make it happen again in 2014.

A Happy New Year Ahead Of You, Folks. A Walk By The Beach 02

Leave a comment

28 Comments

  1. chrome

     /  December 30, 2013

    I dey come! 😀

    Reply
  2. doris

     /  December 30, 2013

    api new year walt…eh consider gtn married next year to one of those frndz of ya that writes…that way d stories would come faster…

    Reply
  3. Rare G

     /  December 30, 2013

    Thanks Walter. You ‘ve ALWAYS had it in You and am glad you discovered your Gift quite early..Bigger and Bigger we shall all get in years to come. Stay True, Creative, humble and Consistent to your “ministry” & soon the world will sit to listen and read your books. Much Love.

    Reply
  4. abikoye

     /  December 30, 2013

    #big hug#

    Reply
  5. Yemie

     /  December 30, 2013

    Slam! Dunk!…..Shazaam!, another one in the bag! Walter, you make writing look so easy, even a vote of thanks sounds like a masterpiece. Lol!

    I want to say a big thank you to you for keeping me occupied with the masterpieces you never fail to churn out everytime, still dunno how you do it. And a huge thank you too, to the crops of writers you feature on your blog, you guys are a gifted bunch and y’all rock big time! Y’all can only go higher in the coming year and beyond, and soar, y’all shall. Thanks again and Happy New Year in Advance to all. *bear hugs*

    Reply
  6. Ini

     /  December 30, 2013

    Have been away for way too long. hoping to make a comeback soon n read series n stories I have missed. thanks shakes

    Reply
  7. Grace oruitemeka

     /  December 30, 2013

    Buono Senor Walt! Btw..iyam inviting u 2celebrate wiv me come January 1st..HAPPY NEW YEAR IN INSTALLMENT..LBuono Senor Walt! Btw..iyam inviting u 2celebrate wiv me come January 1st..HAPPY NEW YEAR IN INSTALLMENT..LBuono Senor Walt! Btw..iyam inviting u 2celebrate wiv me come January 1st..HAPPY NEW YEAR IN INSTALLMENT..LBuono Senor Walt! Btw..iyam inviting u 2celebrate wiv me come January 1st..HAPPY NEW YEAR IN INSTALLMENT..Lol 😀

    Reply
  8. Fam…did you see my name there? Justin Vunderkind. Muahaha. Allah be praised.

    This brought tears to my eyes. No, really *dabs eyes delicately*

    ‘Course fam, let’s do this in 2014. Even better and with more sweg this time…

    Reply
  9. Thank you for entertaining us.

    Reply
  10. consyspark

     /  December 30, 2013

    well thank you walter..thank you thank you thank you

    Reply
  11. Excellency

     /  December 30, 2013

    Brotherly, welldone. If u had shut up this God given gift, u’d have lost your groove…
    Big ups bro! Shine brighter…

    Reply
  12. Now, I feel like hugging you so tight till ur ribs crack. Thanks for acknowledging me.

    Reply
  13. You are welcome Sir. I learnt a lot from you too.

    Reply
  14. MztaPaul

     /  December 30, 2013

    Thanks for entertaining us in 2013. May God make ur bigger and better in 2014.

    Reply
  15. Reading this blog has been a delight…I’m awed at talent and skill displayed…
    I’m sure next year will be better…
    Thank you too for staying true to your gift and in so doing inspiring many

    Reply
  16. I’m on a serious break off internet and social media but Walter had to wake me up from my seclusion.
    Thank you, Walter. Glad to have met you as well. That collabo would definitely happen soon. You are one heck of a writer and you always give me homework. Happy new year, dear.
    Re-invite me on bbm. I downgraded and lost all contacts.

    Reply
  17. Maduka

     /  December 30, 2013

    Thanks for the beautiful stories too.

    Reply
  18. Have a great year ahead Walter. I look forward to your book signing!

    Reply
  19. mana

     /  December 31, 2013

    Walt, so U̶̲̥̅̊ go beach U̶̲̥̅̊ nor invite me, ohk o, anyways more grace, ease n pace 2 U̶̲̥̅̊.

    Reply
  20. Harmeet

     /  December 31, 2013

    Cheers to that sire.
    More whatever it is to thine quill. Or should I say May PHCN or whatever they’re called these days always keep your batteries Charged.
    Shalom!

    Reply
  21. Edeeth

     /  December 31, 2013

    *searching for my name……………
    ………
    ………*
    Not. Found!!!! 😮 😮
    Imagine? The insult! The ridicule!! Mtscheeeeeeeeeew!

    *huffs, … Puffs….. Huffs some more….. Leaves*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

