BENEATH THE VEIL

From the cradle my lessons began,

People call it deception

To me it is an everyday life.

Pushed into a circle I do not belong in,

Learning to conceal has become my survival.

I put on my mask and they clap and cheer

Who cares who is behind the mask? No one!

An actor in front of an ever rolling camera is who I am forced to become.

Playing role that its end will be my death

I dance to the tune played by the crowd,

I smile and dazzle

From this task there is no turning back

My legs are planted in too deep

Leaving character will tell my destruction

So I play on

Taking on a role that its end will mean my death.

Written by Uzoma Maduwike behind-the-mask

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Mr Walter… Ur people dey find ma trouble o…. Second writing dat looks like mine o…

    Reply
  2. wow….the struggle of one afraid to be who they really are…beautiful

    Reply
  3. uzo

     /  February 10, 2014

    thanks topz

    Reply
  4. CHIKA UDE

     /  February 10, 2014

    I am so impressed, your future is very bright. Trust me there’s nothing you want to achieve, work hard towards it that you can not achieve. Go boy, l will always pray for you. God will lead you make it.

    Reply
  5. uzo

     /  February 11, 2014

    Thanks so much

    Reply
  6. adeline adomi

     /  February 11, 2014

    hmmm..

    Reply
  7. Josephine

     /  March 30, 2014

    Love this.
    A msg just for you though…don’t underestimate the capacity for everyone to continue to love u for you and all of your talents no matter what.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

