• Blog Stats

    • 441,114 hits
  • Follow MY MIND SNAPS on WordPress.com
  • Walt Shakes

    Walt Shakes

    Walter Ude (@Walt_Shakes) is an award-winning Nigerian writer, poet and veteran blogger. He is a lover of the written word. the faint whiff of nature, the flashing vista of movies, the warmth of companionship and the happy sound of laughter. He blogs at mymindsnaps.wordpress.com.

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • WHAT CAN WORDS DO (poems)?

    What Can Words Do?

    Buy your copy of Nigeria's best selling collection of poems. Contact 08060109295 or click image to buy on Amazon.

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • It looks like the WordPress site URL is incorrectly configured. Please check it in your widget settings.

The Things They Say: 178

“I’m here today because I am gay and because maybe I can make a difference. To help others have an easier and more hopeful time. Regardless, for me, I feel a personal obligation and a social responsibility.”

X-men star, Ellen Page publically came out as gay on Friday whilst presenting a speech at a human rights conference in Las Vegas. The 26-year-old said her decision was motivated by her desire to “make a difference.”

ellen-page-HD-Wallpapers-300x240She continued by explaining how she had struggled to come to terms not only with her sexuality but how society would respond to her as a result of being openly gay. In her speech, Page said: “I am tired of hiding and I am tired of lying by omission. I suffered for years because I was scared to be out. My spirit suffered, my mental health suffered and my relationships suffered. And I’m standing here today, with all of you, on the other side of all that pain.”

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I get what you are saying, but why is this news? It shouldn’t matter what someone’s sexual preference you are. Fair play to her for coming out though, but this shouldn’t really make the news.

    Reply
    • It’s really not up to you to decide what I consider news. The blog is mine, not yours. And I put on it what I find intriguing not what you deem appropriate news item. The sooner we can understand these distinctions, the better.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

