• Blog Stats

    • 437,544 hits
  • Follow MY MIND SNAPS on WordPress.com
  • Walt Shakes

    Walt Shakes

    Walter Ude (@Walt_Shakes) is an award-winning Nigerian writer, poet and veteran blogger. He is a lover of the written word. the faint whiff of nature, the flashing vista of movies, the warmth of companionship and the happy sound of laughter. He blogs at mymindsnaps.wordpress.com.

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • WHAT CAN WORDS DO (poems)?

    What Can Words Do?

    Buy your copy of Nigeria's best selling collection of poems. Contact 08060109295 or click image to buy on Amazon.

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • It looks like the WordPress site URL is incorrectly configured. Please check it in your widget settings.

Jennifer Lopez is slammed in Rosie Perez’s New Memoirs

blog170214_jloIt seems someone has a beef for superstar Jennifer Lopez, and that beef is 20 years old.

In her new memoir, Handbook for an Unpredictable Life, actress Rosie Perez explains why the two fell out during the ‘In Living Color’ days.

We know that these two Puerto Rican entertainers met when Rosie was a choreographer and JLo was auditioning to be a ‘Fly Girl’ dancer.

Perez says she immediately noticed Jennifer, describing her as the beautiful girl with the “big ass.” And while Perez saw her potential, Keenan Ivory Wayans, the show’s creator wasn’t a believer. Instead, he called her “chubby and corny” and refused to hire her.

Perez came to Lopez’s defense eventually convincing Wayans that she would be good for the show. She suggested that JLo cut her hair and lose 20 pounds.

But Perez would so regret going so hard for her. Shortly after she was hired, Jennifer’s divatude allegedly emerged. Perez writes, “All of the girls were coming into my office complaining how she was manipulating wardrobe, makeup, and me, all to her advantage.”

At the time Jennifer shrugged off the complaints, calling the other women jealous. But, according to Perez, it wasn’t long before she saw JLo’s true colors for herself. Soon, Perez says, Lopez was going off on her like “some ghetto biatch, screaming and pounding her chest. ‘You pick on me, me and only me, every f–king day! Every f–king day! I work my ass off, deliver and you keep pushing me aside, treating me like shit! I know I’m good! I’m better than any of these girls, and you know it!’” All this JLo reportedly said.

Lopez left the show after two seasons but didn’t leave the drama behind her. Perez says after she made it big in Hollywood, Jennifer made disparaging comments about her. Perez was shocked. “I was blindsided. I’d thought we were cool. I called her up. She wouldn’t pick up. Frustrated, I left her an irate message on her answering machine. Instead of calling me back and hashing it out like friends do, she went on a major talk show and reiterated my lashing.”

Months later the two ran into each other in the club. “Jennifer came over to me, smiling, saying hello as if nothing had happened. I should’ve let it go, played it off, too. Instead, I killed her with my biting tongue,” Perez writes.

No word on what she actually said to her.

According to the National Enquirer, (Which is suspect to say the least), the bad blood extends beyond what happened 20 years ago. Both Lopez and Perez have been fighting for the rights to bring the story of Sonia Sotomayor, the first Latina elected to the Supreme Court, to the big screen.

Perez agrees that this feud is not helpful for either one of them. “We ladies of color all know how hard it is for us in the entertainment business. This kind of shit hurts us all and those that follow in our footsteps.”

You can get the rest of the juicy details in Perez’s Handbook for an Unpredictable Life that will hit shelves on February 25.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

