• Blog Stats

    • 441,220 hits
  • Follow MY MIND SNAPS on WordPress.com
  • Walt Shakes

    Walt Shakes

    Walter Ude (@Walt_Shakes) is an award-winning Nigerian writer, poet and veteran blogger. He is a lover of the written word. the faint whiff of nature, the flashing vista of movies, the warmth of companionship and the happy sound of laughter. He blogs at mymindsnaps.wordpress.com.

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • WHAT CAN WORDS DO (poems)?

    What Can Words Do?

    Buy your copy of Nigeria's best selling collection of poems. Contact 08060109295 or click image to buy on Amazon.

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • It looks like the WordPress site URL is incorrectly configured. Please check it in your widget settings.

Hair Is Political: Lupita Nyong’o Not Surprised People Consider Her A Natural Hair Icon

091013-global-kenyan-actress-lupita-nyongo-tiffThere are many things quite beautiful about Lupita Nyong’o: her humility, her talent, her fashion sense, her figure, her skin, her face–and her hair. It’s short, it’s funky, and it’s one of the things about Nyong’o that makes her stand out (in a good way) in an industry where one type of look is wanted, which causes many stars with gorgeous natural hair to hide it under wigs and extensions (and then show it off every once in a while on Instagram).

In an interview with Britain’s Pride magazine, the Kenyan beauty was asked what she thought about already becoming something of a natural hair icon. Here’s what she had to say in response:

“I wasn’t really aware of being a natural hair icon. I don’t really read the news, so this is the first time I’m hearing that. I’m not surprised though; there is something about hair that has always been political.

“Someone has long hair and they cut it, it’s political, when someone grows their hair, it’s political. So I don’t know how to answer that. I guess I’m just taking it in my stride.”

She also explained why she decided to appreciate her hair the way it is:

“When I was in my teens, I dyed my hair all sorts of colors; blue and maroon. And then I realized that I was probably going to end up bald by the time I was 40. So I stopped doing all those things and finally decided to love it the way it is.”

This isn’t the first time Nyong’o has spoken about her hair and her look in general. She has caught the eye of many in fashion, telling Kevin Frazier of OMG! Insider late last year:

“It’s so flattering. I know I’m representing an underrepresented group of women. And being dark-skinned and having short, natural hair, I’m happy to be that for them.”

Chimamanda will be proud of this one, I tell you. 🙂

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Lupita looks fabulous always but truth be told she isn’t much of a digression from the Hollywood stereotype. She’s a size zero. She’s lithe and has all the defined features expected of notable Hollywood royalty. Her unblemished ebony skin adds to the exotic look Hollywood has always tripped tits over ass for since forever ago. She doesn’t, in my opinion, represent the average African woman’s look. That kind of duty is too thick for her shoulders.

    Reply
    • I’m not sure I agree with your assessment, Dozie. Her near-perfect blackness only comes becos she cleans up nicely. But as far as the international playing field of the film industry goes, she’s as African as you can get. Well, without the bodacious figure. I’ll give that part to you

      Reply
      • Chuks

         /  February 21, 2014

        I don’t agree with any of you. God created thick and thin African women. Don’t make it look like thickness is strictly an African thing and being thin is a Western thing.
        I as an African man have a preference for slender ladies as opposed to the popular stereotype that African like only thick ladies with huge breasts and behinds.
        So Lupita is representing African women excellently.

      • *applause*

  2. abikoye

     /  February 21, 2014

    Walter @bodacious figure, can’t handle the laughter.

    Reply
  3. abikoye

     /  February 21, 2014

    At all o

    Reply

Leave a Reply

