Rihanna’s rebel image masks her vocal concerns

celebs 22Singer Rihanna crafted her outrageous public image over fears her voice was too weak to help her stand out in the music industry.

The Stay hitmaker is known for her raunchy music promos and saucy dress sense, but she insists her outfits are a way of making herself unique in the music world. She tells U.S. Vogue magazine:

“It’s not all down to my voice. There’s people with way more talent than I when it comes to singing. Bigger voices. But people want to know who you are. Fashion is a clear indication, a way to express your attitude, your mood…

“I don’t go out of my way to be a rebel or to have that perception, but a lot of the decisions I make, a lot of the direction I want to move, is against the grain, or against society’s tight lane, and I’m aware of that sometimes. It might not be fitting with the norm, but that’s Ok for me.”

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. anyibaba

     /  February 21, 2014

    This woman sef, she too talk

    Reply
  2. Yemie

     /  February 21, 2014

    Watching all ’em musical talent hunt shows has taught me that vocal prowess simply aint enough to pass for a pop icon. You’ve gotta have the total package. Looks, swagz, persona et al. The best vocalists don’t always emerge winner without the other factors. So she’s making plenty sense right now. You go, Riri! LOL!

    Reply
  3. storm

     /  February 21, 2014

    My respect for this babe just increased. She says it as it is….and that’s lovely. I still think she’s talented though. Being sexy without being trashy is a gift abeg. Plus her singing voice is…unique 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

