• Blog Stats

    • 486,438 hits
  • Follow MY MIND SNAPS on WordPress.com
  • Walt Shakes

    Walt Shakes

    Walter Ude (@Walt_Shakes) is an award-winning Nigerian writer, poet and veteran blogger. He is a lover of the written word. the faint whiff of nature, the flashing vista of movies, the warmth of companionship and the happy sound of laughter. He blogs at mymindsnaps.wordpress.com.

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • WHAT CAN WORDS DO (poems)?

    What Can Words Do?

    Buy your copy of Nigeria's best selling collection of poems. Contact 08060109295 or click image to buy on Amazon.

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Cannot load blog information at this time.

EZE GOES TO SCHOOL (Episode 11)

I spent the class shooting angry stares at the back of Ibuka’s head from my new seat beside Joseph at the back of the class. I was so displeased that I refused to answer his repeated questions. “Why is Amina Nwaogwugwu sitting with Ibu?” he hissed the question for the umpteenth time.

I ignored him and continued writing into my notebook as the teacher dictated her lesson.

At the end of the class, Ibuka hurried over to where we stood waiting for him. His eyes were a goggled mix of contriteness and smug delight. “Eze, I’m sorry. I’m so-so-so sorry,” he implored with a smile. “But it was Amina. Amina Nwaogwugwu talked to me.”

“I know, I was there,” I said testily.

“What did she want with you?” Joseph asked, crossing his arms. His brows were furrowed.

“To ask if she can sit with me.”

“Why?”

“Because she didn’t have anywhere else to sit.”

“Why you?”

“Because she thinks I’m nice and special.”

Joseph waited a beat, until he was sure Ibuka was serious, then he broke out into a loud laughter. He was totally cracked up, held his sides as he laughed. He pointed a finger at Ibuka, trying to speak through gasps of mirth.

“What is funny?” Ibuka snapped petulantly.

Joseph’s mirth finally died down. “That you’re nice and special?” he said chuckling. “She said that? She actually said that to you?”

“Yes, she did,” I said. I had thought it was a sweet thing for her to say, and I didn’t understand Joseph’s amusement.

“Oh come on, Eze. You don’t seriously believe that girl meant what she said, do you?”

“Yes, she did!” roared Ibuka. “Why are you being so mean?”

“Well, look at it this way. She is Amina Nwaogwugwu, and you are…you.

Ibuka bristled. “And what is that supposed to mean?” (more…)

Compound Matters Episode XI

Today, the children in the compound decided not to be outshined and put themselves at the centre of every trouble, both between themselves and between themselves and the adults.

I went to school in the morning and returned around two o’clock in the afternoon. This is the designated time for fourth year students to end all their lectures, so they can have ample time for personal studies. Usually, some students get together in different discussion groups and share their different ideas. I don’t know why, nut I’ve never really been a fan of discussion groups. Maybe because I feel shy among people I’m not really familiar with. Or maybe I don’t want to get up and share my own ideas which may turn out not to be the right thing and have someone correct me in such a public arena. Whatever the reason, I declined my friend Maureen’s invitation to stay back for an hour and join her group.

The blaze of the noonday sun was unfriendly as I stepped out of the class, almost wishing I’d accepted Maureen’s offer. Just yesterday, I made Ghana braids and I don’t know why, but my scalp itches fiercely whenever I walk in the sun with newly braided hair. Walking across the open space in front of the lecture halls to the road, I surreptitiously scratched the spaces between each braid. Five minutes later, a cab came along and saved me from the heat roasting in the sun. (more…)

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,984 other subscribers
  • My Mind Snaps

  • Recent Posts

  • May 2013
    M T W T F S S
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • FIGHT WOMEN ABUSE

    No to Domestic Violence!

    Click this image and join the war against domestic violence. It starts with YOU!!!