• Blog Stats

    • 486,438 hits
  • Follow MY MIND SNAPS on WordPress.com
  • Walt Shakes

    Walt Shakes

    Walter Ude (@Walt_Shakes) is an award-winning Nigerian writer, poet and veteran blogger. He is a lover of the written word. the faint whiff of nature, the flashing vista of movies, the warmth of companionship and the happy sound of laughter. He blogs at mymindsnaps.wordpress.com.

    Verified Services

    View Full Profile →

  • WHAT CAN WORDS DO (poems)?

    What Can Words Do?

    Buy your copy of Nigeria's best selling collection of poems. Contact 08060109295 or click image to buy on Amazon.

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Cannot load blog information at this time.

I HAD A DREAM . . . ABOUT A SCORNED WOMAN

This is a story (fiction or fact, you’ll never know 😀 ) dedicated to a good friend and fellow SARTian, Chinazaekpere Sallie Enwere. A sort of belated birthday wish to her. Enjoy 🙂

*

“Walter.” The call was a faint echo, as though resonating from a distance.

“Walter.” The voice was clearer now. “Na pikin you dey born inside there?” Even the mocking irritation was ripe and apparent as I blinked my eyes and looked around.

I was in a convenience room. Toilet cum bathroom. The countertop was a gleaming granite, atop which was arranged shampoo bottles, a cup stacked with toothbrushes and a tube of toothpaste and a pile of shaving sticks. The ceramic of the bathtub and toilet bowl had the freshly-scrubbed look of attentive housekeeping hands, and there was a wicker laundry basket tucked away in a corner.

Somebody rapped on the door, and the female whocalled my name before said, “Bia, enyi a, born quick. I’m about to serve desserts.” There was a rustle of clothing from the other side of the door and the slap of slippers on the floor as she walked away.

I looked around again, my bewilderment deepening. I was in somebody’s bathroom. A woman’s. I’d obviously just made use of the toilet, because my belt was unbuckled and I didn’t feel any pressing sensation in my groin. And that was where my understanding of the situation ended. Questions careened through my mind with the mad rush reminiscent of zebras fleeing the hungry wrath of a lion. Who was this woman? What was I doing here? What was the connection between us? Were we longtime friends or was this the morning after of a one-night stand?

Only one way to find out. (more…)

Study: People with HIV have life spans approaching those of the general population

redribbon166842581People with HIV now have life spans approaching those of the general population, according to a study published in the scientific journal PLOS ONE.

According to the study, a person in his or her 20s who contracts HIV can now expect to live into the 70s. This is vastly different from the 1980s when the diagnosis of HIV meant one only had a few years to live. In 2000, the average 20-year-old newly diagnosed with HIV could expect to live another 36 years. By 2006, that figure had climbed to 51 years. (more…)

The Things They Say: 158

“I think we just really want it to be us and our pastor. That’s it. I mean, we are the only two that’s going to be in the marriage. You have to pay for food for everyone and I’m not down with that. Everyone is there just to be nosy and see who I’m wearing, you know. I’m okay.”

The recently engaged Kelly Rowland is not interested in having a grand affair when the time comes for her to wed her long-time manager Tim Witherspoon.kelly-rowland-600x450

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,984 other subscribers
  • My Mind Snaps

  • Recent Posts

  • December 2013
    M T W T F S S
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • FIGHT WOMEN ABUSE

    No to Domestic Violence!

    Click this image and join the war against domestic violence. It starts with YOU!!!